2010 All-Star Team selected to challenge Kentucky

Posted by RRR on Mar 25, 2010 at 6:01pm | Page Views: 2,549

Indiana All-Stars Director Charlie Hall has put together a strong contingent to face the Kentucky All-Stars in June.

The team members were named in the Indianapolis Star, with a strong emphasis on what Hall defined as “winners”, which he hopes will translate to a victory of the team’s Bluegrass State counterparts.

“I think when you put an all-star team together, you just kind of hope for instant chemistry, because you have them for only a week. I think we have some kids that are pretty much all about winning,” said Hall in the Star.

Led by 2010 Miss Basketball, Courtney Moses (Oak Hill), the makeup of the team includes good speed and scoring punch, including Ben Davis teammates Dee Dee Williams and Demetria Nunley-Lash. Although the pair averaged only 9.3 points per game this season, they did so on a well-balanced Giants squad that decimated a number of teams during the season on the way to the 4A IHSAA title.

Representing Northwest Indiana on this year’s squad is Bryonna Davis from Merrillville (right). The Michigan State recruit literally played her way onto the team after stellar performances throughout the IHSAA tournament all the way to the state finals.  She dropped 42 points on Michigan City in the Sectionals at Valparaiso, and logged 25 points, 7 rebounds and 2 assists again an aggressive Ben Davis team in the state finals in Fort Wayne.

Eleven members of the 14-member squad will be playing next year at colleges in Indiana and five will be playing against each other in the Big Ten in 2010-11. But before they move on, they will be joining together in June to prepare for the Kentucky All-Stars for back-to-back games beginning on Friday, June 11 at Bellarmine University in Louisville and at Conseco Fieldhouse on Saturday, June 12.

2010 Indiana Girls All-Stars

Name School Ht. PPG College Choice
Courtney Moses Oak Hill 5-7 31.7 Purdue
Dee Dee Williams Ben Davis 6-1 9.3 Purdue
Tabitha Gerardot FW Canterbury 6-0 21.6 Valparaiso
Jada Buggs Elkhart Memorial 6-0 15.8 Wisconsin
Andrea Newbauer FW Concordia 5-8 13.5 Indiana
Katy McIntosh Austin 5-8 20.9 Indianapolis
Brandy Woody Western Boone 5-7 19.3 Ball State
Jasmine Penny Logansport 6-1 24.6 DePaul
Anna Munn Decatur Central 5-10 16.9 Indiana State
Maegan Callaway Mooresville 6-1 17.7 Valparaiso
Demetria Nunley-Lash Ben Davis 5-8 9.3 IUPUI
Bryonna Davis Merrillville 5-7 20.9 Michigan State
Sarah Hamm Winchester 6-3 18.8 Butler
Khristian Hart Evansville Harrison 5-7 23.9 Evansville

All-Star Coaches:  Melissa Marlow, Rushville (Head Coach), Stephanie Keller, Indianapolis Arlington and Amy Govert, Merrillville.

Online coverage:

You must be logged in to post a comment.