Hoosier Basketball Magazine tabs Top 60 senior girls

Posted by RRR on Mar 02, 2011 at 10:16pm | Page Views: 5,849

Hoosier Basketball Magazine has announced its 2011 selection of the Top 60 senior girls basketball players as compiled by publisher Garry H. Donna.  These girls were selected from approximately 1,600 senior players statewide.

Seven players that are participating in the 2011 IHSAA State Finals highlight the list of the Top 60 invitees. They are Adrianne Francis (Turkey Run), Casandra Brocksmith and Sara Young (Vincennes Rivet) , Brierra Young (Fort Wayne Luers), Hillary Moore (Benton Central), Mallory Ladd (Evansville Memorial) and Brooke Valentine (Jeffersonville).

Top 60 participants include five of the state’s highest scorers:  Kaleigh Hensley, Wabash (27 ppg), Kayla Battle, Indianapolis Ritter (22.8), Ladd, Evansville Memorial (22.3), Jama Sharp, Mooresville (22.4) and Bria Goss, Ben Davis (21.6).

Also among the 2011 Top 60 selectees are the following 15 girls who will play at in-state Division I Universities: Jessica Carr, Hamilton Heights (Valparaiso), Liza Clemons, Fort Wayne Snider (Purdue), Hannah Douglas, Pendleton Heights (Butler), Claire Holba, Chesterton (IUPUI), Haley Howard, Whiteland (Butler), Shelbie Justice, Rushville (Ball State), Mallory Ladd, Evansville Memorial (Valparaiso), Jessika Lark, Pendleton Heights (Butler), Hillary Moore, Benton Central (IPFW), Libby Ogden, Hamilton Heights (IPFW), Amanda Raker, Perry Meridian (Butler), Haley Seibert, Terre Haute South (IPFW), Alex Thompson, Frankfort (IUPUI), Torrie Thornton, Carmel (Purdue) and Jessica Valley, McCutcheon (Indiana State).

Statistical evaluation, game observation and statewide research were conducted all season and throughout the state tournament to determine Hoosier Basketball Magazine’s Top 60.

Two sessions of the 30th annual Top 60 Workout will be hosted by Hoosier Basketball Magazine in conjunction with the IHSAA and the IBCA on Sunday, March 13th on the campus of Marian University in Indianapolis.

Twenty-eight girls of the Top 60, primarily from northern and southern Indiana, will participate in the first session (1:00-3:00 pm EST). The remaining 32 girls of the Top 60, primarily from central Indiana, will compete during the second session (3:30-5:30 pm EST).

Four-time state champion coach Rick Risinger (Heritage Christian) will direct both sessions. Three other outstanding Indiana girls’ high school coaches from the IBCA have been invited to join the 2011 Top 60 staff: Mike Hamacher (Hobart), Scott Smith (Jac-Cen-Del) and  Matt Williams (Covenant Christian ­ Marion County).

Both sessions are open to the public for an admission fee of $6.00.  Media should call  (317)  925-8200 if interested in credentials for one or both sessions.

The Hoosier Basketball Magazine Top 60:

Courtney Baker, New Castle
Kayla Battle, Indianapolis Ritter
Katrina Blackmon, Marion
Casandra Brocksmith, Vincennes Rivet
Jessica Carr, Hamilton Heights
Liza Clemons, Fort Wayne Snider
Alison Curtis, Lebanon
Kim Demmings, Richmond
Melody Doss, Center Grove
Hannah Douglas, Pendleton Heights
Jamie Drummer, Muncie Central
Quinci Eller, Carroll (Flora)
Adrianne Francis, Turkey Run
Brooke Gardner, Chesterton
Anna Goeglein, Fort Wayne Concordia
Tierra Golightly, Indianapolis Arlington
Lacia Gorman, Fort Wayne Wayne
Bria Goss, Ben Davis
Jena Hamrick, Homestead
Katrina Hayden, North Central (Marion)
Kaleigh Hensley, Wabash
Julia Henson, Plainfield
Claire Holba, Chesterton
Alicia Hopkins, Columbus East
Kelly Hopkins, Kokomo
Haley Howard, Whiteland
Kaila Hulls, Bloomington South
Darion Hutchinson, Scottsburg
Chelsea Jamison, Indianapolis Broad Ripple
Brittany Johnson, Fort Wayne South
Shelbie Justice, Rushville
Janee Kimball, Ben Davis
Mallory Ladd, Evansville Memorial
Jessika Lark, Pendleton Heights
Courtney Larson, Columbus North
Stephanie Lord, Randolph Southern
Beth Mahurin, Rockville
Kabrina Merriweather, Tindley
Shelby Miller, South Central (Elizabeth)
Hillary Moore, Benton Central
Kayla Negley, Mt. Vernon (Fortville)
Libby Ogden, Hamilton Heights
Micah Pollard, Covenant Christian
Amanda Raker, Perry Meridian
Haley Seibert, Terre Haute South
Jama Sharp, Mooresville
Liz Stratman, Heritage Christian
Giorgia Stringer, Evansville North
Akyah Taylor, Elkhart Memorial
Alex Thompson, Frankfort
Torrie Thornton, Carmel
Brooke Valentine, Jeffersonville
Jessica Valley, McCutcheon
Becca Wagner, Jac-Cen-Del
Olivia Walker, Lafayette Central Catholic
Kelly Walter, Tri-Central
Chelsea Ward, Mishawaka
Shaw-Nee Winningham, Bloomington North
Brierra Young, Fort Wayne Luers
Sara Young, Vincennes Rivet

Selected but injured and unable to participate:
Kayton Cole (New Albany)
Amanda Corral (Hobart)
Megan Hiner (Knightstown)
Erin Wehrheim (Vincennes Rivet)

You must be logged in to post a comment.