IBCA/IHSAA Top 100 Underclass Showcase invitees announced

Posted by RRR on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:18pm | Page Views: 6,428

Kendall Brown of Crown Point is a rising junior invited to the Top 100. Photo by Bob Strempka of Strempka Gallery.

Please note that the schedule for July 13th in this article is contrary to what has been posted by the IBCA. You can view the complete Top 100 schedule here.

For the eighth consecutive year, the IBCA/IHSAA Girls Top 100 Underclass Showcase will be held this summer during the NCAA observation period.

On Tuesday, July 13, over 100 Indiana underclass players will convene at Ben Davis High School in Indianapolis where they will go through controlled drills and scrimmages throughout the day.  The showcase provides the opportunity for quality rising seniors, juniors and sophomores to showcase their basketball skills before all levels of college coaches from across the country. Players will also hear featured speakers discussing a variety of topics, which in the past have included the recruiting process, sports nutrition and athletic mental preparation.

Players will be grouped into teams prior to the event and each team will be coached by a pair of Indiana varsity high school coaches who donate their time to lead their respective scrimmage teams. Registration begins at 8:00 a.m. (ET) , drills at 9:15 a.m. and scrimmages sessions at 10:15 a.m. A second round of scrimmage sessions takes place in the afternoon beginning at 12:50 p.m.

Parents, friends and the general public are allowed to attend the day-long event for a nominal entry fee. Athlete profile booklets with data and statistics about every player will also be available for purchase.

The selection process for the Top 100 provides for a wide cross-section of athletes from all  geographic areas. Nomination letters were sent to every varsity coach in the state in early January, where they were provided the opportunity to nominate any athlete — including their own — in their district. Twenty-five players from the three Indiana districts were then narrowed down by three representatives from each district, guaranteeing at least 25 players from each geographical area. Another 75 players statewide were then added by a group of district representatives to the three-district list of 75, making a total list of 150 players. Of those 150 players, the top-rated 125 were sent invitation letters early in March. The remaining 25 of the 150 were denoted as alternates. Players who were sent invitation letters had two weeks to commit, and those who did not respond to the letter were contacted to verify their intentions to participate. When the number of first-round invited players was determined, then letters were sent to the 25 alternate players to fill in the remaining openings. Players are required to submit a $50.00 fee to participate.

Players invited and confirmed for the 2010 Showcase are as follows:

Player High School
Anderson, Jenn Westfield
Arion, Whitney Delphi
Baker, Courtney New Castle
Barnett, Brionna Elkhart Memorial
Baughman, Kayley Elkhart Christian
Bennett, Kaylee Brownstown
Bliss, Tori Portage
Brewer, Katie Roncalli
Brown, Jessica Mt. Vernon
Brown, Kendall Crown Point
Bruce, Kristina Lafayette Jeff
Byrd, Kelsi North Montgomery
Carr, Ryne Brownsburg
Clemons, Liza Elmhurst
Cohlmeyer, Natalie Evansville Memorial
Cole, Kayton New Albany
Corral, Amanda Hobart
Dewell, Brittany Boone Grove
Dickey, Sara Riverton Parke
Duncan, Gabrielle Triton Central
Eller, Quinci Carroll
Francis, Adrianne Turkey Run
Francis, Chelsea Turkey Run
Fraze, Kaylie Winchester
Gardner, Brooke Chesterton
Gentry, Alli Perry Meridian
Goss, Bria Ben Davis
Hackert, Anna Evansville Memorial
Hackert, Marie Evansville Memorial
Harbaugh, Caroline Kokomo
Hasser-Smith, Lakan McCutcheon
Hayden, Katrina Noth Central
Hensley, Kaleigh Wabash
Hiner, Megan Knightstown
Hittle, Meagan Rushville
Hogg, Julie Hebron
Hopf, Sarah Forest Park
Hopkins, Kelly Kokomo
Hopper, Jillian Yorktown
Hornaday, Mariah Jay County
Howard, Haley Whiteland
James, Taylor Hobart
Janssen, Sara Plainfield
Jellison, Chelsea Crawford County
Johnson, Kasey Plainfield
Juday, Brooklyn Tipton
Justice, Shelbie Rushville
Kimball, Janee Ben Davis
Langlois, Blaire Carmel
Larson, Courtney Columbus North
Lehman, Allyson Indian Creek
Lindquist, Kenzi Fountain Central
Lord, Steph Randolph Southern
Mahurin, Beth Rockville
Matteson, Audrey Twin Lakes
Mattocks, Allie Rensselaer Central
McCall, Kayla Lafayette Jeff
Menke, Hailey Tecumseh
Miller, Mallory Greencastle
Miller, Shelby South Central
Miller, Taylor Hauser
Milliner, Tori Penn
Mills-Harris, Jade Ben Davis
Minhinnett, Lauren Centerville
Mink, Heather Waldron
Monahan, Nicki Portage
Moorman, Alizabeth East Central
Morton, Alex Penn
Mousty, Jocelyn Eastern
Ogden, Libby Hamilton Heights
Parish, Ashley Griffith
Paul, Ariana Valpo
Pekny, Carissa West Lafayette
Peppers-VanNamee,Emily Northridge
Perry, Bridgett Roncalli
Perry, Kristen Switzerland Co.
Perry, Nichole North Posey
Poston, Blayr Hanover Central
Ratliff, Kelsie Greenwood
Reimer, Taya Hamilton Southeastern
Rivoli-Johnson, Breauna Gavit
Rogers, Nicole Western
Rueter, Nyla Hagerstown
Sandrick, Carolyn Lake Central
Sears, Sophia Paoli
Seibert, Haley Terre Haute South
Sells, Emily Winchester
Shaffer, Brittany Boone Grove
Shipley, Kylee Culver Academy
Smith, Emylee Northridge
Stahl, Emma Jimtown
Steinmetz, Jill Avon
Sternberg, Megan Jasper
Stout, Kayla Warsaw
Stringer, Giorgia Evansville North
Strock, Megan Eastside
Swisher, Kelcey Seeger
Taylor, Akyah Elkhart Memorial
Thurman, Makaya Monroe Central
Turchi, Taylor N. Vermillion
Valentine, Brooke Jeffersonville
Wagner, Becca Jac-Cen-Del
Wagoner, Wynter Loogootee
Walker, Olivia Lafayette Central Cath.
Walter, Kelly Tr-Central
Windham, Jazmine Ben Davis
Young, Sara Vincennes Rivet
Zurek, Natasha Andrean

One Response to “IBCA/IHSAA Top 100 Underclass Showcase invitees announced”

  1. By godsun71 on Jun 24, 2010

    There is no way Taylor Sanders from Lawrence Central should have been left off this list.

You must be logged in to post a comment.