North/South Classic All-Star participants named

Posted by RRR on Apr 05, 2011 at 9:14am | Page Views: 2,921

From Hoosier Basketball Magazine:

An elite group of Indiana’s senior basketball players will convene at Vincennes University in Vincennes, Indiana to prepare for the 23rd annual North/South Indiana All-Star Classic.

This girls and boys doubleheader will be played on Sunday, April 10th, at 2 p.m. (girls) and 4 p.m. (boys). The North/South Indiana All-Star Classic is sponsored by Vincennes University, Hoosier Basketball Magazine and Pacesetter Sports of Terre Haute.

Twenty-four girls compete in the first half of this doubleheader including three IHSAA State Champions. Standout Mallory Ladd (22.1 ppg) of AAA State champion Evansville Memorial along with Casandra Brocksmith and Sara Young of class A state champion Vincennes Rivet lead the South girls. The South team has three more 20 ppg scorers as well‹ Jama Sharp, Mooresville (22), Shelby Miller, South Central (Elizabeth) (21.4) and Kaila Hulls, Bloomington South (20.1).

The North girls roster includes two standouts that reached the final four of the 2011 AAAA state tournament. They are Purdue frontline recruit Torrie Thornton, Carmel and Indiana State bound guard Jessica Valley, McCutcheon. The North’s top two scorers are Katrina Blackmon, Marion (20.8 ppg) and Jamie Drummer, Muncie Central (20.0 ppg).

The North girls will be coached by Kokomo’s Jason Snyder. Vincennes Rivet’s 2011 state championship coach Tim Young will lead the South.

The 2011 Classic Game Director is Athletic Director Harry Meeks of Vincennes University. Tickets are $10.00 and can be purchased from Vincennes University by calling (812) 888-4354 or (800) 945-2586.

Jalen Greene – North Central (Marion)    6-0    Forward    Vincennes
Katrina Blackmon – Marion    6-0    Forward    Wright State
Jessica Carr – Hamilton Heights    5-7    Guard    Valparaiso
Kim Demmings – Richmond    5-7    Guard    Vincennes
Hannah Douglas – Pendleton Heights    5-9    Guard    Butler
Jamie Drummer – Muncie Central    5-7    Forward    Undecided
Adrianne Francis – Turkey Run    6-0    Center    Undecided
Haley Howard – Whiteland    6-1    Forward    Butler
Janee’ Kimball – Ben Davis    5-3    Guard    Undecided
Beth Mahurin – Rockville    6-2    Center    Murray State
Torrie Thornton – Carmel    6-1    Forward    Purdue
Jessica Valley – McCutcheon    5-10    Guard    Indiana State

NORTH COACH: Jason Snyder, Kokomo

Casandra Brocksmith – Vincennes Rivet    5-7    Guard    Undecided
Melody Doss – Center Grove    6-0    Forward    Northern Kentucky
Kaila Hulls – Bloomington South    5-11    Forward    Bowling Green
Darion Hutchinson – Scottsburg    6-1    Center    Bellarmine
Shelbie Justice – Rushville    5-10    Forward    Ball State
Mallory Ladd – Evansville Memorial    6-1    Forward    Valparaiso
Courtney Larson – Columbus North    5-9    Guard    Miami (Ohio)
Shelby Miller – South Central (Elizabeth)    5-7    Guard    Undecided
Haley Seibert – Terre Haute South    5-5    Guard    IPFW
Jama Sharp – Mooresville    5-7    Guard    Stetson
Liz Stratman – Heritage Christian    6-3    Center    Xavier
Sara Young – Vincennes Rivet    5-7    Guard    Southern Indiana

Honorary Player – Bria Goss, Ben Davis    5-10    Guard    Kentucky

SOUTH COACH: Tim Young, Vincennes Rivet

You must be logged in to post a comment.