New IHSAA classifications announced for 2011-12, 2012-13

Posted by RRR on Feb 07, 2011 at 9:57am | Page Views: 2,891

From the IHSAA:

IHSAA Commissioner Bobby Cox announced today the new classifications for 409 IHSAA member schools in several sports for the next two school years.

The enrollment figures, the total of boys and girls in grades 9-12, were submitted by the schools to the Indiana Department of Education last fall and are used to determine the classifications in the sports of baseball, boys and girls basketball, football, soccer, softball and volleyball.

A total of 39 schools will play in a different classification in football than they had in the previous two-year cycle. In the four-class sports, 34 schools have changed levels. State tournaments in boys and girls soccer will be contested in a two-class format for the first time next fall.

Faith Christian, Gary Lighthouse Charter and Lakeland Christian joined the IHSAA membership in 2010 but are not be eligible to compete in IHSAA tournaments until 2012-13.

Also, per IHSAA By-Law, C-2-3c, any school has the option to play up one or more classes in any sport for the two-year classification period by notifying the Association Office.

Sectional groupings for each sport will be announced this spring. Schools will be assigned to the same groups in baseball, boys and girls basketball, softball and volleyball.

Schools Changing Classification

Moving from 3A to 4A (6)
Columbia City, Fort Wayne Wayne, New Haven, New Palestine, Roncalli, Shelbyville.

Moving from 4A to 3A (3)
Indianapolis Arlington, Indianapolis Emmerich Manual, Muncie Central.

Moving from 4A to 2A (1)
Indianapolis Broad Ripple.

Moving from 2A to 3A (12)
Brownstown Central, Fairfield, Garrett, Guerin Catholic, Hanover Central, Indian Creek, Jimtown, Lawrenceburg, North Putnam, Tipton, Tri-West Hendricks, Woodlan.

Moving from 3A to 2A (4)
Crawford County, Rochester, Southridge, Sullivan.

Moving from A to 2A (10)
Bowman Academy, Henryville, Herron, Indianapolis Crispus Attucks, Indianapolis Metropolitan, Indianapolis Shortridge, North Central (Farmersburg), Northeast Dubois, Springs Valley, Whiting.

Moving from 2A to A (3)
Culver Community, Hauser, West Washington.

You must be logged in to post a comment.