18 named to 2016 Junior All-Stars Team

Posted by RRR on Mar 02, 2016 at 4:58pm | Page Views: 4,127

Eighteen players have been selected for the IndyStar Indiana girls Junior All-Stars for 2016.

Gary West Side's Dana Evans will play with the Junior All-Stars Core group.

Gary West Side’s Dana Evans will play with the Junior All-Stars Core group. Photo from the Chicago Tribune.

Players in the core group include Riley Blackwell of Plainfield, Dana Evans (right) of Gary West, Maliah Howard-Bass of Columbus North, Karissa McLaughlin of Homestead, Zion Sanders of Evansville Central and Madison Wise of Greenfield-Central.

The North group players are Bre Lloyd of Hamilton Southeastern, Rachel McLimore of Covenant Christian, Madisen Parker of Homestead, Anne Secrest of Tippecanoe Valley and Nicole Konieczny and Daly Sullivan of South Bend St. Joseph.

The South group players are Kayla Casteel of Plainfield, Katie Helgason of Greenfield-Central, Alexis Thomas of Evansville Central, Macee Williams of Fountain Central and Imani Guy and Ashlyn Huffman of Columbus North.

The coaches for the Junior All-Stars have not yet been announced.

The Junior All-Stars will play two games against the IndyStar.com Indiana All-Star senior girls. Those games tentatively are set for June 7 and June 9 at sites to be announced later.

The players listed as core group players will play in both games. The players listed as North group players will join the core group for one game, and the players listed as South group players will join the core group for the other game. It is not yet know which date will include the North and South players.

The Indiana senior All-Stars will play the Kentucky senior All-Stars on June 11 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis and on June 12 at a Kentucky site to be announced later.

The Junior All-Stars will not play Kentucky juniors this year.

The Junior All-Star team is determined by the 22-member Indiana Basketball Coaches Association all-state panel in conjunction with its selection of the IBCA/Subway Underclass All-State Team. The selection process allows all IBCA-member head coaches the opportunity to recommend top players from schools on the traditional regional structure of the non-class tournament format. Representatives from each of those 16 regional areas, plus six representatives from the three IHSAA districts (two each from District 1, District 2 and District 3), then meet to review those recommendations, vote and finalize the selections.

A list of those chosen as 2016 girls Junior All-Stars follows.



Riley Blackwell, Plainfield, 6-1 F
Dana Evans, Gary West, 5-6 G
Maliah Howard-Bass, Columbus North, 5-9 G
Karissa McLaughlin, Homestead, 5-8 G
Zion Sanders, Evansville Central, 5-8 G
Madison Wise, Greenfield-Central, 5-11 G-F

Nicole Konieczny, South Bend St. Joseph, 5-8 G
Bre Lloyd, Hamilton Southeastern, 5-8 G
Rachel McLimore, Covenant Christian (Indianapolis), 5-10 G-F
Madisen Parker, Homestead, 5-9 G
Anne Secrest, Tippecanoe Valley, 6-0 C
Daly Sullivan, South Bend St. Joseph, 5-9 G

Kayla Casteel, Plainfield, 5-8 G
Imani Guy, Columbus North, 6-4 F
Katie Helgason, Greenfield-Central, 5-7 G
Ashlyn Huffman, Columbus North, 5-5 G
Alexis Thomas, Evansville Central, 5-9 G-F
Macee Williams, Fountain Central, 6-1 C

Head coach: TBA
Assistant coaches: TBA

You must be logged in to post a comment.